The 2010 Quiksilver Pro presented by Land Rover runs from 26th February through to 10th March on the Goldy. Unless you've had your head stuck in a crab hole, you know that Adam Melling and Owen Wright have both qualified for the 2010 WCT and this will be their first event. If you have the chance, get up there to support the fellahs. Owen surfs in Ht 15 and Adam in Ht 16 of round 1
Good luck Mello and Owen.

UPDATE Feb 27th
Owen Wright had a good solid start in his first official rookie heat on the WCT today. He showed plenty of contest savvy and secured a win in a back and forth battle with Fred Patacchia. Owen finished with a heat total of 14.10 ( 6.33 and 7.77 ) and now moves into round 3. Mello pulled into a couple of bombs at the start of his heat but couldn't find the exit in some heaving Snapper pits. He never really found his rhythm. Mello started to come good in the end with a 4.90 and 6.40 and beat Dingo but still finished 2nd and now moves into sudden death round 2. Check in here tomorrow morning to see if the mens round 2 is running
                                                                  Owen photo ASP/Kirstin

UPDATE Feb 28th

Tsunami day

UPDATE Mar 2nd
Bad luck for Adam Melling today after being eliminated in round 2 by Mick Campbell. Even though Mello had the highest scoring wave of the heat ( 8.00 ) he came up 1.17 points short of Cambo.

UPDATE Mar 3rd
No joy for Owen today being eliminated in round 3 by Taj. His heat was scheduled for the top of the tide and was highlighted by it's lack of sets. Owen never really built any momentum and had to settle with a 17th

If you can't be there CLICK HERE TO GO TO THE EVENT SITE

The Breaka Burleigh Surf Pro 4 star WQS runs from Feb 17 - 21 at Burleigh. In the round of 96 James Wood surfs Ht 8 and Stuey Kennedy in Ht 9. In the round of 64 Owen Wright surfs in Ht 7 and Adam Melling in Ht 10. All the fellahs will be looking for a good start to the 2010 competition year, good luck.

In a radical turn of events Nicky Wood at age 40 and 23 years after his historic Bells Beach win, has found his way back into the competitive surfing limelight via a randomly drawn “Win a Wildcard” promotional competition with event sponsor Breaka Flavoured Milk.

When it was confirmed that the competition winner Nicolas Wood was in fact the legendary surfer Nicky Wood - who garnered so much publicity in the 1980’s and 1990’s, to say organisers were amazed would be an understatement.


Woody had an easy win moving into the round of 64. Stuey fought hard but unfortunately did not progress.

Today was an amazing day for the Le-Ba surfers still in the event. It started with with Owen Wright scoring a huge heat total of 16.17 ( 8.10 and 8.07 )and progressing thru to the round of 32. Next up was James Wood who scored a heat total of 15.33 ( 8.33 and 7.00 ) and beat current world champ Mick Fanning. That has to feel good eh ? To top it off Adam Melling scored the highest heat total of the event thus far with 18.83 ( 8.83 and 10 ),his 10 being the only perfect score in this event. Love your work fellahs. Tomorrow Owen surfs Ht 3, Woody Ht 4 and Mello Ht5. Good luck fellahs

                                              James Wood  photo Robertson/ASP Australasia

Owen survived an intense heat in the round of 32 which saw Mick Fanning eliminated. Woody had another big win, in a heat that he led from the start, to progress into the final 16. Mello fought a tough battle against Bede and was unlucky to lose by 0.7 points.

Owen held his nerve under plenty of pressure to record a solid win in his quarter and move into the semis. Woody showed everyone how serious he can be in pressure situations and powered his way into semi-final 1.

Owen took a while to get going in their semi but when he finally did he scored a 10 and 9.77 in 90 seconds, incredible ! Woody surfed brilliantly and was in with a chance til the very end but was eliminated by 0.56 and finishes 5th. That's a great start to the season. Good on ya mate !

In the final Owen could not maintain his momentum from the semis, scoring 7.83 and 6.77, he finished in 3rd. This result in an event where nearly half the top 45 were competing should be a great warm up for the Quiky Pro which starts Feb 27th. Congratulations Owen.

Little Le-Ba had their sign on and first round on Saturday Feb 13. The groms were all frothing when the world's biggest grom Owen Wright dropped by to say G'Day and sign a few autographs.



The 2010 Jim Beam Surftag Australian Championship , Jim Beam Boardriders Cup and the FCS Manufacturers Cup National Final is set to start this Friday, February 12th at North Narrabeen.

The Le-Ba team will be hoping to make a finals appearance this year after making the semis in 2009. In the Boardriders Cup , which features the 2009 Open champion from each Jim Beam sponsored club , Dan Thomson will be chasing the cash and bragging rights. He surfs in Ht 4 at 8:30 Friday morning. In the FCS Manufacturers Cup team Emery is poised to take their first big event win. Good luck fellahs.

The Le-Ba team did well today and have progressed to the quarter final on Sunday. Congratulations to the Emery Surfboards team winning the FCS Manufacturers Cup.  Emery Surfboards claimed the National title with 74.19 points from Stacey (64.28) and Warner (61.09).
Emery were led by WCT rookie Adam Melling who was joined by Stuart Kennedy, James Wood and Sunny Russell. Well done fellahs !


Team Le-Ba had a great win in a wave starved high-tide quarter final to move into the semis. All the fellahs surfed well but it came down to Dan Thomson ,anchor man , who scored well and managed to take maximum bonus points to ensure the win. The fellahs came 2nd in a really tense semi final which featured big airs from Stuey and Dan and Snapper Rocks being eliminated. They were off to a solid start in the final but unfortunately Stuey was caught up in an interference that was not his fault. This put the fellahs behind in time and the clock eventually beat them. The team ended up finishing 4th. Congratulations on making the final and for winning the Manufacturers Cup.

Live stream CLICK HERE.

The Rhythm Kirra Teams Challenge, to be held over the 5th, 6th and 7th of February 2010 will see 36 clubs from across the country compete for the prestigious title of Australia’s best board riders club.

Le-Ba won in 2007 and came 2nd in 2009. The team for 2010 is looking really good and the boys are all fired up. Friday will feature Stu Kennedy, Luke Streader and Sunny Russell. The fellahs want all the support the club can offer so if you are able to get up to the Goldy on any of the 3 days of competition, do it.


In heat 7 today Stu Kennedy had a good win with his heat total finishing up double his nearest opponent. Sunny Russell also had a decisive win in heat 23 to keep Le-Ba in the race.  Luke Streader went down in a tough heat but should be better for the experience. Well done fellahs.


James Wood finished 2nd in a tight tussle with Sully from Byron in heat 30. Dan Thomson couldn't get the right waves in a stacked heat 36 and finished in 3rd. Travis Bristow finished 3rd in another tough heat in pretty ordinary conditions. Good work fellahs


Joe Hudson did well in a close one and finished 2nd. Evan McGregor had a heat stacked with ex CT surfers and unfortunately finished in 4th