Vans World Cup of Surfing, 2nd jewel in the Triple Crown, runs Nov 25th - Dec 6th 2012 at Sunset Beach. Stu Kennedy will surf in the first heat of the event in the round of 128. Adam Melling starts in Ht 13 round of 64. Good luck fellas.

Update Nov 27th

Update Nov 28th
Stu surfed a solid round 1 heat but was unfortunately eliminated requiring only a 5.50.

Update Dec 4th
A good start for Mello today progressing into the round of 32 in  messy but solid conditions. Good luck tomorrow mate.

Update Nov 5th
Mello has won the Vans World Cup of Surfing in clean 6' waves today. Adam used the strategy of sitting deep on the point and won the final in the last 4 minutes with a 9.33. There were a few tense moments after the hooter waiting for Medina's score to drop but Mello had done enough. The win guarantees requalification for the 2013 Tour and adds Adam's name to the list of legends that have won Sunset. Congratulations mate.

All photos Cestari ASP

Click here to go LIVE

Le-Ba 2012 Presso

Lennox-Ballina Boardriders end of year presentation of club championship trophies and awards was on Saturday Nov 17th. A highlight for the large crowd was seeing Cyril Connors presenting the Ron ‘Shorty’ Connors trophy to Dennis ( Blacky ) Bellato in recognition of his many years of voluntary work with the club.

Full 2012 results : 
Fleas 1 Nathan McKenzie, 2 Campbell Taylor, 3 Jack O'Brien, 4 Flynn Bosselmann. 
Groms 1 Eli Carr, 2 Luke Atkinson, 3 Kai Sommerville, 4 Finley James.
Cadets 1 Zac Wightman, 2 Jake Snellgrove, 3 Luke Condon, 4 Regan Martinovich.
Opens 1 James Wood, 2 Tom Snellgrove, 3 Johnny Hewett, 4 Sunny Russell.
Seniors 1 Jamie Kennedy, 2 Neil Wightman, 3 Toby Ratcliffe, 4 Craig Strong.
Masters 1 Rob Wright, 2 Antony Bates, 3 Shaun Ade, 4 Steve Kearney.
Legends 1 Max Perrot, 2 Grant Anderson, 3 Doug Streader, 4 Pete Roberts.

Special awards: Most outstanding - Mikey Wright.
Club person for 2012 - Tony O’Brien. 
Abe Green Memorial trophy - Rhys Tatum.
Most improved Cadet winning a Gunther Rohn surfboard - Blake Ghanimeh.
Most improved Grom - Jordy Chapman.
Incentive awards - Tom McEvoy and Hunter Weston. 
Thanks to Webster surfboards for 2 custom boards for raffle.

Reef Hawaiian Pro the first jewel in the $1million Vans Triple Crown of Surfing runs on the four best days of surf during the period of November 12-24 at Haleiwa Ali'i Beach Park on the North Shore of Oahu. Stu Kennedy starts in the round of 128 Ht 3 and Adam Melling in the round of 64 Ht 5. Good luck fellas.
Surfline forecast -
The first few days of the waiting period (12th-14th) will be minimal/flat. However, a new storm has recently developed in the Northwest Pacific and will deliver a decent size shot of NW swell for the North Shore late Thursday/Friday (15th-16th).

Update Nov 13th - 15th
Update Nov 16th
A dominant display by Stu today and an easy progression into round 2.

Image ASP / Cestari
Update Nov 17th
No love for Stu from the judges today, eliminated by 0.11 points.

Update Nov 18th
Unfortunately Mello was knocked in the round of 64.
 Click here to go LIVE

Local Island time -

Caba's 2012 Into Summer Junior Challenge ran Nov 3rd - 4th. A big contingent of  Le-Ba  groms
headed up and smashed it. Tom Snellgrove was the winner in the U19's with brother Jake 2nd and Sam Morgan 4th. Tom celebrated his win with some unscheduled renovations at home. Dan Hosking made the semi. In the U16's Jake finished 2nd , Aeran Thomas 4th and Zak Condon made the semi. In the U14's Zac Wightman finished 2nd and Luke Condon made the semi. In the U12's Mikey McDonagh kept up his recent form with another event win and Eli Carr was 3rd. Congratulations groms.